• css.php

    2018-2019 Provost’s Digital Innovation Grant Winners Announced!

    by  • February 6, 2019 • 2018-2019 Provost Digital Innovation Grant Winners, Digital GC, News, Provost's Digital Innovation Grants

    We are happy to announce our newest Provost Digital Innovation Grant winners for the 2018-2019 academic year!

    The Provost’s Digital Innovation Grants support digital projects designed, created, programmed, or administered by doctoral students at the CUNY Graduate Center. Since 2012, the grants have supported a range of inventive projects across the disciplines: an online, open-access, crowd-sourced database of scholarly relationships within writing studies; an application to support street medics and promote health and safety among activist communities; and a first effort at “Diplonomics,” a computational analysis that applies big data techniques to the study of diplomatic history.

    As part of the Provost’s Digital Innovation Grant process, students propose research projects, receive informed feedback from a panel of reviewers, publicize their work on the GCDI website, share their work during the GC Digital Showcase in May; and author a white paper about their work.

    Implementation & Start Up Grants

    Francine Almash, “A Digital History of Disability and the ‘600’ Schools in New York City

    Angelique Aristondo and Rebecca Raitses, “Language Pedagogy in CUNY Classroom Website

    Arita Balaram, “Reconstructing Memory, Conjuring Place: Cultivating a Women & Femme-Centered Intergenerational Oral History Project

    Carly Batist, “Integrating Wildlife Conservation & Technology Through Acoustic Monitoring of Wild Ruffed Lemurs

    Andréa Becker, “The Topography of Choice: A Spatial Analysis of Access

    David Giuseppe Colosanto and Julian Gonzalez De Leon Heiblum, “Visualizing Epistemology

    Atasi Das and LaToya Strong, “Abolition Science Radio Podcast

    Erik Forman, “We Built This City: Labor’s Cooperative Housing Projects in New York City

    Alexis Larsson, “BlabRyte

    Ashley Marinaccio, “Stage Left: A Web Series

    Stefano Morello, “East Bay Punk Digital Archive

    Theresa Ober, “A Digital Pedagogical Tool to Support Writing Instruction for Undergraduate Students

    Rachel Rakov, “Sarcastic Speech Research Corpus

    Nicholas Rodrigo, “Social Anatomy of a Deportation Regime: Infographic and Mapping Advocacy Materials


    Training Grants

    Carmela Muzio Dormani

    Connor French

    Yu-Hsuan Liu

    Yoshiko Oka

    Natalie O’Shea

    Sally Sharif

    Katherine Wojtkiewicz


    Congratulations to this year’s winners! Abstracts and information about each project will be posted to this site soon.