• 2017-2018 Provost’s Digital Innovation Grant Winners Announced!

    by  • December 13, 2017 • 2017-2018 Provost Digital Innovation Grant Winners, News

    We are happy to announce our newest Provost Digital Innovation Grant winners for the 2017-2018 academic year!

    The Provost’s Digital Innovation Grants support digital projects designed, created, programmed, or administered by doctoral students at the CUNY Graduate Center. Since 2012, the grants have supported a range of inventive projects across the disciplines: an online, open-access, crowd-sourced database of scholarly relationships within writing studies; an application to support street medics and promote health and safety among activist communities; and a first effort at “Diplonomics,” a computational analysis that applies big data techniques to the study of diplomatic history.

    As part of the Provost’s Digital Innovation Grant process, students propose research projects, receive informed feedback from a panel of reviewers, publicize their work on the GCDI website, share their work during the GC Digital Showcase in May; and author a white paper about their work.

    Implementation & Start Up Grants

    Atasi Das and LaToya Strong, “Abolition Science: A Podcast Series”
    Federico DiPasqua, “Introduction to Classical Cultures: A Video Podcast Series”
    Andrew Dunn, “Holographic Reading”
    Anthony Freeman, “Refer Me NYC”
    Agustin Índaco, “Around the World in 270 Million Images”
    Micki Kaufman, “Quantifying Kissinger”
    Christina Katopodis, “The Walden Soundscape”
    Madhuri Karak, “A Virtual Museum of Kondh Resistance: 1825-Present”
    Drake Logan, “The Military Toxics Transparency Project”
    Anna Larsson, “BlabRyte”
    Jessica Murray, “Our Mobility: A Mixed-Methods Research Protocol for Measuring Daily Mobility”
    Javier Otero Peña, “Guerrilla Gallery”
    Sophia Natasha Sunseri, “Shyness and the Ethics of Engagement in Eighteenth-Century Literature”
    Tommy Wu, “Emperor of Work: Chinese Restaurants, Worker Subjectivities, and the New Regime of Flexible Labor”
    Inés Vañó García, “Place-based and Task-based Spanish Language Learning”

    Training Grants

    Martin Aagard Jensen
    Param Ajmera
    Atasi Das
    LaToya Strong
    Diane Yoong

    Congratulations to this year’s winners! Abstracts and information about each project will be posted to this site soon.